If you're at Airspace World, hopefully you were able to join this year's ATM Awards ceremony in the CANSO stand on the 19th March to congratulate the winners of the Air Traffic Management (ATM) Awards 2023.

This year's programme recognised achievements in five categories, along with an overall winner. The judges had a tough job this time around with a wealth of great entries to consider from 20 countries, initially resulting in a shortlist of 29 entries. 

Drone topics monopolised the entries this year, with around half of the overall entries focused here and entries crossing beyond the drone category. This aligns well with the growing impact of this technology in our industry and can be seen by the increase in drone related exhibitors at this year's event.

Congratulations to all of this year's winners and runners-up for their outstanding contributions to the industry.

Here are the winners in each category:

Overall Excellence

Airways New Zealand: Resilient new physical and digital infrastructure

Re-imagining ATM Operations

Winner: NATS: West Airspace Deployment

Runner-up: DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung and EUROCONTROL Maastricht Upper Area Control Centre (MUAC): Common deployment of Integrated Flow Management Position (iFMP) at the Karlsruhe and the Maastricht Upper Area Control Centres within the MAKAN cooperation

Digital Transformation in ATM

Winner:  EUROCONTROL: New Network Manager Operations Centre

Runner-up: NATS, Leidos, Think & LVNL: Intelligent Approach goes live at Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Integration of drones/AAM

Winner:  Airways New Zealand: Integration of a Wisk Aero drone into unsegregated controlled airspace

Runner-up: SkeyDrone: Drone Detection-as-a-Service Solution

Greener Skies

Winner: DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung: Future ATS System Architecture

Runner-up: The Hong Kong Civil Aviation Department (HKCAD), Thales, Airport Authority Hong Kong (AAHK): Achieving Environmental Benefits through implementation of Wake Turbulence Group and Approach Spacing Management System at the Hong Kong International Airport

Resilience in ATM

Winner: Airways New Zealand: Resilient new physical and digital infrastructure

Runner-up: ENAV: Delegation of Airspace