GLONASS satellite system suffers fresh glitch

Russia’s federal space agency Roscosmos has confirmed that nine of its 23 navigation satellites failed for the second time this month, according to China’s state news agency Xinhua.

It cites a statement made by Roscosmos that between 01:00 and 01:30 Moscow time (2100 – 2130 GMT) on March 15, eight satellites of the GLONASS navigation system started malfunctioning. Earlier, at 22:20 Moscow time (1820 GMT) on Monday, one Glonass satellite also suffered a glitch.

“The half-hour glitch was fixed,” the Itar-Tass news agency quoted Nikolai Testoyedov, director general of the Reshetnev Information Satellite Systems Company, which produces the satellites, as saying. Testoyedov blamed the malfunctions on incorrect data entry to the satellites’ onboard computers during a software update.

That was the second time in two weeks when Glonass system reported malfunctions. On April 2, it failed for over 10 hours with all its satellites sending wrong navigation data to the users. Roscosmos said eight out of nine satellites are now functioning again.

Read: GLONASS failure confirms backup need

This entry was posted in Navigation, News.

Comments are closed.